Little Drummer Boy

I wanted to join the DeviantArt Christmas Carol Contest. So for my art exercise (I’m dropping the “daily 30 drawing” label, by the way, since it is not daily and it won’t always be a drawing), I drew something that maybe I can use for the contest.

Here is a summary of the rules as taken from the contest’s page:

Think of your absolute favorite Christmas Carol. Now illustrate it in the anime/manga style! All medias are welcome~

The only thing I can come up with in a short amount of time was The Little Drummer Boy. Well, I had been meaning to draw the boy a few weeks back so I already had a little idea on how I wanted to proceed. However, since I only have 30 minutes to finish this (less the planning part), I only had time to draw both baby Jesus and the drummer boy. No time to put in colour and still make it look good.

This is isn’t the final form that I will submit for the contest, but I will use this as basis for the actual submission a bit later though.

EDIT 23/12/07: Here is the coloured version if you are interested.

Published in: on December 21, 2007 at 11:24 pm  Comments (2)  

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Vince, no problem. I add the shadows myself, manually. Originally, I intend baby Jesus to be the “light source”, hence the light that seems to be coming from His head. It also subs as a halo. Then there’s the Star of Bethlehem light source too. I emphasised the star light because a lot of people wouldn’t buy the glowing baby idea. 😛

  2. GJ, I know I tend to nitpick. I hope you don’t get tired and decide to block my IP . I’m just curious if Corel Draw adds the shadows or if you have to put them in manually. I’m trying to figure out whether it’s correct to have dark areas along the top outer edges of the pillow if light is coming from above. Nice color selection.


Leave a Reply

