It’s “Hotting” Up!

The following blog was originally posted from my old blog, The Geejay Journal:

As they say here in Australia, it’s hotting up!

I went out to North Melbourne today to pick up from the courier company the wireless phone with answering machine that we bought on eBay. I took the train and walked the rest of the way to the courier’s depot.

I just realised that winter is indeed over as it was quite warm outside. And this was just spring. I wonder how hot it would be in summer. Ugh.

Fortunately, we have a casual dress code policy at my new job so I normally just come to work wearing a T-shirt and jeans. Today was no exception. I usually bring a sweater/jacket with me in case it gets cold but I had to take it off as I was starting to perspire from the heat.

I’m just glad to be back in the cool air-conditioned office and doing programming work. Really!

Before I end this post, I’d just like to point out that the phrase “it’s hotting up” is one of those phrases used here that I’m really annoyed with. It should “it’s heating up!” The word Hot is not a verb and shouldn’t have a present participle form. Heat, however, is a verb and “Heating” is more appropriate than the grammatically incorrect “hotting”. There. I finally got that off my chest.

Published in: on October 11, 2004 at 2:30 pm  Leave a Comment  

Leave a comment